Guide to Building and Creating Objects in VRoma

Registered users in the VRoma Learning Environment (“VRomans”) belong to one of the following categories, distinguished by the color of the tunic worn by the icons (as in ancient Rome, color is a marker of status):

This guide is for all users who are builders or above and assumes that you are already familiar with the Quick Start Guide, particularly the explanation of how to select the language in which VRoma speaks to you. Any student who wishes to be upgraded to builder status should apply to his/her teacher; players not connected to a teacher should apply to the wizard Reficere.

screenshot of creation window

Creating Objects

As a builder, your most important tool will be the Inventory Manager, accessed by clicking Create/Organize in the menu frame (see screen shot). When you choose the create tab, you will see a list of different types of objects, with their standard icons and brief descriptions of what they are and can do. Select the one you want and click the create button next to it. On the next page you will be asked to give your new object a name (which you can easily change later, if you wish) and also whether you want to share ownership of this object with another player. If you do, select that player's name from the drop-down list of eligible builders; you may also share ownership with a group to which you belong. Remember that shared owners can also edit an object, so choose this option only if you truly want to work on this object with another person or a group.

Once you have chosen a name for your new object, click the create button. The next page will show your new object with its object number proceeded by # (e.g., #5678). Since you are now carrying the object (it is literally “in your pocket” and cannot be seen by anyone else), you will need to put it somewhere. There are a number of ways to do this, but the easiest is to click the move button right below your object's icon. This will give you a page that lists places you can put your object, either in the room in which you are standing, or in a container in that room. Select the radio button next to the place you want to put the object, and click move. You may also type /drop NameofObject in the typing frame or view the object in the web frame and click the drop icon.

Building Rooms

Begin with the same procedure described above, but select room as the object you want to create. On the next page, give your room a name and select a shared owner if desired. However, before clicking the create button, be sure to connect your room to another room in VRoma or your new room will be floating in space with no entrances or exits. You will see a drop-down list of rooms that allow connections; if this is your first room, the list will include only office corridors (for teachers' offices) and the Portae Somni (Gates of Sleep); for subsequent rooms you will only see other rooms you own in this list. For your first room, choose the Portae Somni, since this is a twilight realm where anything is possible and your imagination and creativity can soar. After selecting Portae Somni and clicking the create button, you will automatically be transported to your new room, which will be displayed in the web frame. The very first room you create will also be designated your “home,” the room where you sleep and the place you arrive whenever you connect to VRoma. If you create other rooms later and wish to change your home, simply go to another room that you own, type @sethome in the typing frame, and press Enter.

Editing Rooms

edit icon

Whenever you see the icon of a wax tablet and stylus, you can click on it to edit the associated object. When you are in a room you own, the icon will appear at the top of the web frame, or you can find it next to the room's name when you examine your inventory in the Inventory Manager. An editing window will open with twelve options. Remember that you must always click the Save Changes button to preserve every change you make.

Editing Objects

To edit any object, simply click on its edit icon in the Inventory Manager or in the web frame. An editing window will open with whatever options pertain to that type of object; many of these are the same as the editing options for rooms, so this section will only explain options that are different from those used in editing rooms. Always click the Save Changes button to preserve every change you make.


Quota is to a VRoma builder what capital is to a real-world builder—without enough of it you can't complete your construction. Every VRoma builder starts out with 50,000 bytes of quota, and everything you create (including logs) consumes some of your quota. However, unlike in the real world, VRoma builders have a feature called “free quota.” This means that if you get a message that you are out of quota, you have only to look at your quota by clicking the quota tab in the Inventory Manager, and your quota will be automatically increased by 10% (don't you wish that this would happen when you check your wallet in the real world!). You can also increase your quota by recycling some objects you own (see the next section), and you should certainly check your inventory periodically and see whether you no longer want or need some of the objects you own.

Recycling and Deleting Objects

You should always use the Inventory Manager to recycle objects that are no longer needed (do not use a typed text command to do this!). Click on the inventory tab and you will see an organized list of all the objects you own, with the most recent first. You can easily sort these in a different way by clicking on the categories in the list heading, by object number, type of object (Class), name (Object), or location. Place a check mark next to each object you wish to recycle and then click the recycle button. The next page will show the objects you have selected, plus any contents they might have, which you can optionally recycle at the same time by clicking the check all button. When you have checked all the items you wish to recycle, click the recycle button, and these items will be moved to the trashbin. This means that they are removed from the MOO, from your inventory, and from your quota, but you can still recover them if you change your mind (see below). Rooms, however, are an exception—rooms cannot be recycled; they must be permanently deleted, along with their exits and entrances. So if you follow this procedure for a room, you will not be able to recover it.

screenshot of results of a search for Cleopatra


This is another extremely useful feature provided by the Inventory Manager. When you click the search tab, you will be able to search your own inventory or the entire MOO for a word or phrase, searching in any combination of object names, descriptions, texts, slides, or bot words. The results appear in a sortable table similar to that which lists your own objects, and you can click on an object to view it immediately in the web frame or on a room to be transported there. The screenshot at right shows part of the results of a search for Cleopatra. Be sure to select search the MOO in the last drop-down box if you want to conduct a broad search, because the default for that search option is search inventory, meaning search only within the objects you own.

Other Uses of the Inventory Manager

Project Co-Directors: Barbara F. McManus (The College of New Rochelle) and Suzanne Bonefas (Rhodes College)
Web Design: Barbara F. McManus and Daniel Jung (University of Bergen)